Lightup Info

Nigeria's No.1 Premier Information Resource

How Many Countries Are There in Europe?

Europe, which happens to be the second smallest of the world’s continents, has left people with the question “How Many Countries Are There in Europe?” Europe as a continent is currently segmented into 50 different countries with 5 additional territories that are yet to be fully known.

How Many Countries Are There in Europe?

How Many Countries Are There in Europe?

Europe’s Borders

Europe is one of the smaller continents on planet earth. The continent is bordered in the North by the Arctic Ocean. The Southern border is shaped by the Mediterranean Sea, while the Eastern boundary is shaped by the Atlantic Ocean. The eastern dividing line is often where much of the confusion lies. The eastern and south-eastern boundaries of Europe are generally recognized by the Ural and Caucasus Mountains, Caspian Sea, and the Black Sea.

RELATED POST  List of All African Countries and Their Capitals

The continent of Europe is part of the larger landmass called “Eurasia” and is responsible for the northwestern portion of this area.

The European Union should not be mistaken for the continent of Europe. Not all countries of continental Europe are part of the European Union (Eurozone).

Europe Shares Some of its Countries

Though the continent of Europe is divided into 50 countries, there are several countries that have territory in both Europe and Asia. Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, and Russia are considered to be “transcontinental” with part of their countries on multiple continents.


How Many Countries Are There in Europe?

List of Countries in Europe

Albania Tirana 2,831,741
Andorra Andorra la Vella 68,403
Armenia Yerevan 3,229,900
Austria Vienna 8,169,929
Azerbaijan Baku 9,165,000
Belarus Minsk 9,458,047
Belgium Brussels 11,007,785
Bosnia and Herzegovina Sarajevo 3,843,126
Bulgaria Sofia 7,621,337
Croatia Zagreb 4,437,460
Cyprus Nicosia 788,457
Czech Republic Prague 10,256,760
Denmark Copenhagen 5,564,219
Estonia Tallinn 1,340,194
Finland Helsinki 5,157,537
France Paris 66,104,554
Georgia Tbilisi 4,661,473
Germany Berlin 80,716,124
Greece Athens 11,123,034
Hungary Budapest 10,075,034
Iceland Reykjavík 307,261
Ireland Dublin 4,234,925
Italy Rome 60,655,464
Kazakhstan Astana 15,217,711
Latvia Riga 2,067,900
Liechtenstein Vaduz 32,842
Lithuania Vilnius 2,988,400
Luxembourg Luxembourg 448,569
Macedonia Skopje 2,054,800
Malta Valletta 397,499
Moldova Chișinău 4,434,547
Monaco Monaco 31,987
Montenegro Podgorica 616,258
Netherlands Amsterdam 16,902,103
Norway Oslo 5,018,836
Poland Warsaw 38,625,478
Portugal Lisbon 10,409,995
Romania Bucharest 21,698,181
Russia Moscow 143,975,923
San Marino San Marino 27,730
Serbia Belgrade 7,120,666
Slovakia Bratislava 5,422,366
Slovenia Ljubljana 2,050,189
Spain Madrid 47,059,533
Sweden Stockholm 9,090,113
Switzerland Bern 7,507,475
Turkey Ankara 77,695,904
Ukraine Kiev 45,360,224
United Kingdom London 65,110,274
Vatican City Vatican City 900
Total 852,184,167
RELATED POST  List of Different Currencies of all African Countries

The overall area that makes up the continent of Europe remains mostly unchanged for thousands of years. What changes most frequently are the dividing lines of the countries that make up the continent. Over time new countries will form and other will split or fade away. We will update this list as new information becomes available regarding new population data and country additions!

Similar Posts:

If you find this post helpful and wish to receive updates on this specific post when it’s published, please do well to subscribe to our Email Newsletter and Push Notification to qualify you to receive updates. Let us know your view on this post by dropping your comment in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Lightup Info © 2018. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Lightup Info
error: Content is protected !!